Columbus Day commemorates the arrival of Christopher Columbus in America. The federal holiday is also called Indigenous Peoples Day in several states including Florida, Hawaii, Alaska, Vermont, South Dakota, New Mexico, and Maine. In Hawaii it's known as Discoverers' Day and in South Dakota, Native American Day.

Several businesses and offices are closed for whatever you call the federal holiday.

Schools: Most schools will be closed
Banks: Most banks will be closed
Mail: The United States Postal Service will not deliver mail but FedEx and UPS will be making deliveries
Post Office: Post offices will be closed
Libraries: Most public libraries will be closed
Federal offices: All non-essential federal government offices will be closed.

Read more:

Listen to Tad & Polly in The Morning from 6AM to 9AM on Big Frog 104. Stream us live, listen on any Alexaie-enabled device, Google Home or on the Big Frog 104 app.

More From Big Frog 104