Egg Nog Season Is Here
During the holidays, one beverage seems to pop up more than others...egg nog. It's funny how we drink soft drinks, juices, beer, wine - you name it, year round, but egg nog only gets poured from Thanksgiving to Christmas and New Year's . So, what exactly is egg nog, and why is it only associated with the holidays?
Good questions (even if I asked them myself). According to Wikipedia:
Eggnog, or egg nog, is a sweetened dairy-based beverage traditionally made with milk and/or cream, sugar, beaten eggs (which gives it a frothy texture). Brandy, rum, or whisky are sometimes added; and the finished serving would be garnished with a sprinkling of ground cinnamon or nutmeg.
Eggnog is a popular drink throughout the United States and Canada, and is usually associated with winter celebrations such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the New Year. Commercial non-alcoholic eggnog is typically available only in the winter season.
Traditional eggnog typically consists of milk, sugar, raw eggs, and spices, usually nutmeg. Cream may be included to make a richer and thicker drink, though some modern egg nogs add gelatin. Vanilla is a common flavoring, with grated nutmeg sprinkled on top. Other toppings may be whipped cream, meringue, cinnamon, ice cream, and chocolate curls.
If you'd like a recipe for homemade egg nog, just click on this Food Channel link, and cheers!