Kenny Chesney has recorded several hit songs penned by singer-songwriter David Lee Murphy, including "Pirate Flag," "Til It's Gone," and "Livin' in Fast Forward." Now he's decided to collaborate on a forthcoming album with his fellow country singer.

"We got together to make a record of songs we liked the sound of . . . things we'd want to listen to ourselves," Murphy says in a statement revealing the unexpected collaboration (quote via Rolling Stone Country). "Kenny's got great ears, and I kept sending him demos — more than he could ever record, but he just loved the songs. One day, he said, 'I think we oughta go make a record!'"

Chesney co-produced Murphy for a 10-track collection called No Zip Code, which features Chesney on the title cut and bluegrass sensation Dan Tyminski on the song "As a Crow Flies." The collection will also feature Murphy's take on the country music genre, which includes rock influences.

Murphy has co-written dozens of songs for other country stars such as Gary Allan ("A Feelin' Like That"), Jason Aldean ("Big Green Tractor"), Blake Shelton ("The More I Drink") and Thompson Square ("Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not").

"When I was 20, I was listening to Waylon [Jennings], Merle Haggard, Willie [Nelson], [George] Jones," says the 56-year-old. "I was out on a back road, drinking beer, knowing they'd done stuff — and wanting to hear all about it. That's kind of the way with me, too: these songs aren't about me, they are me, and there's an edge, but even more, they're real."

The release date for No Zip Code has not yet been announced.

See Pictures From the Big Revival Tour

You Think You Know Kenny Chesney?

More From Big Frog 104