It’s Illegal For New York Landlords To Charge Multiple Months Rent
Are you looking to rent an apartment? Maybe you are already. Hopefully, you weren't swindled into paying the multiple month's rent. It's actually illegal in New York state.
There is only so much a landlord can legally ask you to pay upfront before you get into an apartment or rental property. In New York State the law protects the renter against certain things, including the first month, last month, and security deposit. It is completely normal and legal to be asked to pay either a month's rent and security. Sadly many landlords are asking for all three. That isn't just wrong, but according to NYS, it also is illegal.
So what can a landlord ask you to pay? Quite simple actually. One month's rent prior, and a security deposit. That is it, clear cut. This is one of those laws many don't seem to know about, so think of this as a public service announcement of sorts.
Another thing worth knowing, if the settled-upon rent happens to be let's say $1,000, then you cannot be charged any more than $1,000 for either the security or month's rent prior to moving in. New York protects against that too.
Have you been charged all three? Hopefully not.
[carbongallery id="6036c35be987f76c861433f4" title="READ ON: See the States Where People Live the Longest"]