Gary Allan has been teasing fans and journalists with news about his upcoming album 'Set You Free,' which he previewed at a private industry event in September. Now he's revealed the art work, track listing and release date for the much-anticipated new record.

'Set You Free' is slated to drop on Jan. 22 from MCA Nashville. Comprising 12 new tracks, the album heralds a new musical approach. Allan produced some tracks himself, while working with longtime producers Mark Wright and Jay Joyce on others. He played lead guitar on some tracks and also worked with several new co-writers, coming up with an album that "embodies his own evolution toward personal, creative freedom," according to a press release.

The album is also a lyrical departure for the singer, whose past work has often been characterized by songs that are considerably darker than standard contemporary pop country fare. The title ‘Set You Free’ is borrowed from a line in the first single, ‘Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain),’ and Allan says that theme carries over into the entire project.

“Every storm runs out of rain,” he reflects, “so I think that’s what this album is about, is me coming up for air.”

Gary Allan 'Set You Free' Track Listing:

1. 'Tough Goodbye'
2. 'Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)'
3. 'Bones'
4. 'It Ain't the Whiskey'
5. 'Sand in My Soul'
6. 'You Without Me'
7. 'One More Time'
8. 'Hungover Heart'
9. 'No Worries'
10. 'Drop'
11. 'Pieces'
12. 'Good as New'

More From Big Frog 104