The final leg of the Triple Crown of horse racing takes place this Saturday at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. Saddle up for the 143rd running of the Belmont Stakes, a mile and a half race. Unfortunately as in most recent years, there will be no Triple Crown winner this year.


"The first running of the Belmont Stakes in 1867 at Jerome Park took place, oddly enough, on a Thursday. The race was 1 5/8 miles long and the conditions included “$200 each; half forfeit, and $1,500-added. The second to receive $300, and an English racing saddle, made by Merry, of St. James Street, London, to be presented by Mr. Duncan.”

The Belmont Stakes is the oldest of the Triple Crown events. It predates the Preakness Stakes (first run in 1873) by six years and the Kentucky Derby (first run in 1875) by eight. Aristides, the winner of the first Kentucky Derby, ran second in the 1875 Belmont behind winner Calvin."

Historical information courtesy of

Here's a list of entries, post positions and jockeys:*

1. Master of Hounds - Gomez

2. Stay Thirsty - Castellano

3. Ruler On Ice - Valdivia, Jr.

4. Santiva - Bridgmohan

5. Brilliant Speed - Rosario

6. Nehro - Nakatani

7. Monzon - Lezcano

8. Prime Cut - Prado

9. Animal Kingdom - Velazquez

10. Mucho Macho Man - Dominguez

11. Isn't He Perfect - Maragh

12. Shackleford - Castanon

* Entries subject to change as possible scratches before post  time.