On this day, 1906, President Theodore Roosevelt became the first American to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, for helping to end the Russ-Japanese War.

In addition to Teddy Roosevelt, only three other U.S. Presidents received the Nobel Peace Prize.   I found it interesting that overall, just four U.S. Presidents have received this coveted prize:  Woodrow Wilson in 1919, Jimmy Carter, Jr. in 2002 and Barack Obama in 2009.