Free Boater Safety Course It’s the Law For 21 or Under
If you were born after May 1, 1996, New York requires you to pass a Boater Safety Course before operating boats or personal watercraft. The Department of Environmental Conservation is offering a free course July 15 and 16.
The 2 day course is being held at the DEC's Region 5 Headquarters in Ray Brook. Anyone 10 or over can attend the class, but you must be present both days to receive a certificate. Course hours are 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, July 15, and 9 a.m. to noon on Sunday, July 16.
For the sake of clarity, the term personal watercraft covers Jet Skis and Wave Runners, basically anything that travels the water and is motorized will require you to pass the course. Passing the course will get you a temporary certificate good for 90 days. If you're 18 or over, $10 will get you a permanent certificate.
Class size is limited, to reserve a spot by calling 518-897-1303. Here's more information on all New York boating regulations.